South crowned Premiers
Date of Event Cricket Southern Bayside: Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:12PM

South Caulfield erased the demons from their White Ball Final loss to Bonbeach by defeating the Sharks by 127 runs in the Championship Division Grand Final.


Having been sent in to bat first, South got off to a flyer thanks to a 72-run partnership between Bradley Erasmus (87) and Elliott Bradley (17). Lewis Mildenhall (77) joined the party and ensured South would post a very competitive total. However, a late order collapse saw South lose their last six wickets for 17 runs as Bonbeach fought back through Jack Bailey (4/29) to restrict the total to 227.

Bonbeach's chase started terribly losing both openers inside the opening two overs and then David Fernandez shortly after. However, Tom Smith & Shanuka Dulaj set about restoring the innings before Smith fell just before tea with the score at 4/90. What followed after tea, no one saw coming as South claimed the last 6-wickets for just 10 runs as Kanishka Alvitigala (5/16) ran riot with the ball to dismiss Bonbeach for 100.

Erasmus capped off an amazing season with the Player of the Match Award after he snared 2/37 to go with his runs on day 1.






Aspendale go back-to-back

In Division 1, Aspendale beat Mentone to make it back-to-back premierships since their return to the competition last season.

In a topsy-turvy day on Saturday, twenty wickets fell as Aspendale edged its way to first innings victory.


Having been sent in, Mentone was dismissed for just 78 in 34.3 overs. Aspendale skipper Brett O’Hanlon (3/19) and Mitch Allen (3/3) did the damage with the ball.

In reply, Aspendale passed the target six wickets down before being dismissed for 110. Allen made 35, while Mentone's leg-spinner Chris Smyth(4/26) kept his side in the contest.

On Sunday, Mentone smashed 5-191 off 24 overs as Matt Walker belted 63* off 35 balls and captain Simon Cormie 43* before declaring with 45 overs left in the day. Aspendale battled hard to finish 4-65 and secure the flag.

Aspendale's Cal Dodson was named Player of the Match.





Chelt win it for their mate

Out of tragedy a couple of months ago, Cheltenham completed one of cricket’s great stories on the weekend when it defeated Port Melbourne to claim the Division 2 flag.

The win was dedicated to the team’s regular spinner Mark Ryan, who was seriously injured in a car accident in January. Since the accident, Ryan's playing shirt and cap have been hung in the rooms as a symbol that he was still there with the team.

On Saturday Cheltenham flattened Port Melbourne for 86 as Stacy Brown (5/44) and Scott Neeson (3/16) tore through the Borough innings.

With opener Nick Ellery (36) and Jed Donnell (30) showing the way, Cheltenham appeared to be cruising to a comfortable victory at 2/96 before a seismic collapse saw them lose 8/16 to be all out for 112.

However, Brown (4/19) and Nesson (3/39) with the help of Simon Donnell (3-7) terrorrised the Port batters to dismiss them for 80. Ellery (34) then guided Chelt to a comfortable outright victory finishing at 3/55.

Brown was named Player of the Final for his match figures of 9/63.




Carnegie do the Division 3 & 4 double

Carnegie's 2nd& 3rd XI's pulled off the double as they both saluted in their Division 3 & Division 4 Grand Finals.

Division 3: Carnegie 2/104 (Suraj Nageswara Rao 38*, Lex Middag 27*) defeated Murrumbeena 101 (Leigh Hardham 32,Kamant Suri 3/25)

Player of the Final: Kamant Suri (Carnegie)

Division 4: Carnegie 150 (Manjunath Mallesh 58, Stuart Easton 38, Mohsin Rasheed 4/21) defeated Heatherton 106 (Leon McConnell 27, Armanpreet Singh 6/24)

Player of the Final: Armanpreet Singh (Carnegie)

Division 5: Kingston Hawthorn 7/211 (Jamie Parton 68, Leigh Heinrichs 49, ) defeated Aspendale 9/210cc (Justin Dean 66, Michael O'Shea 4/31)

Player of the Final: Jamie Parton (Kingston Hawthorn)

Division 6: Parkdale United 9/182cc (Nick Stweart 51, Tiernan Ravesi 41, Xavier Schaff 3/49) defeated Bonbeach 85 (Corey Martin 35, Al Symons 3/16, Andrew Lord 3/16)

Player of theFinal: Nick Stewart (Parkdale United)

Sat One Day 1: Old Mentonians 4/78 (Josh Van Cuylenburg-Reimers 39*) defeated Beaumaris 76 (Tom Cashion 4/12)

Player of the Final: Tom Cashion (Old Mentonians)

Sat. One Day 2: Parkdale 5/133 (Geoff Crosby 38*, David McNamara 3/15) defeated Bentleigh 8/111cc (Robert Mott 41*, Sam Sargeant 3/26)

Player of the Final: Grant Baylis (Parkdale)





Presentation Night - Friday 12 April

The Cricket Southern Bayside Presentation Night is a chance for all of the clubs to come together to acknowledge and celebrate the great individual and team performances from throughout the season.

This year we are returning to Woodlands Golf Club, White Street, Mordialloc on Friday 12 April where will will present the divisional aggregate awards, club awards, premiership plaques and announce the Championship Division Team of the Season as well as the MVPs in both the men's and women's competition.

Clubs have already been sent their allocation of tickets,additional tickets are available for purchase via

Last updated: Wednesday March 20, 2019 2:18PM

@CricketBayside Twitter